Skip to content Skip to footer

Bessant in Only Contested Race for School Board

Ronald Bessant wants his old seat back. In the only contested race for Horry County School Board, Bessant is seeking re-election to the District 9 seat which he held for 18 years, from 1990 to 2008 when he lost to the Republican candidate. Asked why he decided to run again, Bessant replies “I am still a servant, and I still have more to give to the students of Horry County.”

MEG-Bessante_GraceBessant’s slogan is “Children First.” He wants to close the learning gap by providing a safe environment, by better use of technology, and by hiring the best and brightest teachers for Horry kids. And he thinks the School Board has the money to do this.

“I want Horry County taxpayers to know I believe they have been very fair in supporting the students of Horry County,” he says, adding “I will work to spend tax money wisely for all students. I’m not pursuing any personal agenda.”

On the campaign trail, Bessant is sharing his vision for education with faith, civic and community organizations. His travels across the district have included meetings with voters in the Loris communities of Flag Patch, Cedar Branch and Freemont as well as North Myrtle Beach and elsewhere in Horry County.

In mid-October, Bessant waded into the crowds at the Loris Bog-off, a traditional annual festival which attracts tens of thousands of people. He greeted voters and discussed his candidacy. In the remaining days of the race, Bessant intends to continue voter outreach through meet-and-greets and local canvassing efforts.

He emphasizes that “The single most important issue is to make sure everyone gets out and votes.”

If elected, Bessant would be the second Democrat on the 12-member board. The lone Democrat currently serving is Janet Graham from District 7.

District 9 includes 12 precincts: Dogwood, East Loris, Ebenezer, Jernigans Crossoads, Leon, Nixons Crossoads #1, #2 and #3, Sweet Home, Wampee, West Loris and Windy Hill 2.

What's your reaction?
Copyright ©2024 Horry County Democrats. All rights reserved. Sitemap | Privacy Policy | Comment & Posting Policy